Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Jamie Cullum, Sonny Rollins tipped for new Jazz Award

Jazz FM has announced the nominations for its inaugural Jazz FM Awards, which include Jamie Cullum, Roller Trio, Sonny Rollins and Gregory Porter. The 34 nominations recognise those who have made exceptional contributions to jazz this year. Cullum is up for UK Jazz Artist of the Year while Rollins has been nominated in the International Artist category. Porter will go head to head with Robert Glasper for the Album of the Year gong. The nominations were chosen by a 13-strong panel of experts, including jazz journalists Clive Davis, Mike Hobart, Rob Adams, Stuart Nicholson and Seb Scotney; the live jazz promoters Steve Rubie (the 606 Club), Paul Pace (Ronnie Scott's) and Ross Dines (Pizza Express). The winners will be named at the awards ceremony on 31 January at Number One Marylebone, and will be selected by an expert panel of judges including: John Cumming, Director of Serious Productions, Tony Dudley-Evans, Artistic Director of Birmingham Jazz and of the Cheltenham Jazz Festival and Alex Webb, Songwriter, Musician and Journalist

The Web Directory:
Twitter: #music | #musician | #musicmonday | #recordlabel